Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview
7

sourdough rosca de reyes 👑

foreshadowing tamales on february 2nd 🫔
7

Sometimes life gives lemons– say in the form of the first snow of the season coinciding perfectly with an ultra buttery and tender sourdough rosca de reyes (and so here lies a little bonus recipe post this week).

But the bonus bonus? In Mexico, rosca de reyes is traditionally devoured with friends and family for the first couple weeks of January for Día de Reyes (i.e. Epiphany on January 6th), and whoever picks the slice with the little baby Jesus figurine or bean is then in charge of hosting with tamales on February 2nd (for Día de la Candelaria).

The moral of the story?

Mexicans know how to prolong the party 🥳

So in this post lies some tried and true food magic from my native land to continue with festivities, soothing the January blues by gathering in community.

(p.s. it really is great fun to cut with friends– particularly if you make the stakes high)(as it doesn’t have to be monetary, so feel free to switch it up from tamales)(but worry not, I’ll ensure we finally have a tamale party here 🙃)

but what you’re also asking (hi Judy!): I’m curious since you’ve stopped being low carb, can you feel a difference? I’m not celiac, but have a wheat allergy; more importantly feels like I wouldn’t be able to stop & would be so high & spacey from the bread.. I think it’s all I’d want to eat, very addictive for me.

what I’m saying: my besties, we’re gonna have to talk next about lowering our blood sugar with our minds (and I wish this was a gimmicky sentence– but the science behind it is fascinating). So no– if anything I’ve found that there might just be something more important than food that affects our blood sugar and bodies (believe it or not!)(but I also personally find sourdough to be much easier to digest due to the fermentation process, as a diet rich in gut friendly foods also does help our minds).

btw! I’m mailing my 100yr sourdough starter (alive!!) to you this January 🌋

As many of you now know, I’m gifting everyone US-based with a yearly subscription in January a little live clone of my prized starter to get you started on your sourdough adventure (they’re generally worth around $30)(and are much more valuable than a dehydrated one, as its a culture that’s been maintained for decades… and it shows).

because what you’re skipping: four to six months of daily feedings to create an “established colony”:

p.s. already a subscriber? simply hit reply to my email with your full deets (address + phone number pretty please!)

But for now, one seriously fluffy sourdough rosca de reyes– because what did we learn from our cinnamon rolls? 😋

This post is for paid subscribers