Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview
3

sourdough discard + rough puff pastry 🤝

and welcome to the croissant olympics ◯‍◯‍◯‍◯‍◯
3

This year I’m setting lofty goals for us all: to master the pinnacle of pastry– a perfectly layered croissant.

(and yes, my gluten free besties will be included too)(I’ve a surprise for you coming)

But since Rome wasn’t built in a day, we are kicking off our training sessions with a surprisingly simple rough puff pastry to build the necessary skillset from the ground up– yes, adding in our beloved sourdough for bonus fermentation.

because what Jeff asked: is there data showing the carbs being reduced in sourdough?

And the answer to that is an absolute yes, and even beyond data, in that carbs are *the* necessary input for the sourdough cultures to feast upon (and yield carbon dioxide, prebiotic fibers, acetic acid etc). So once the sourdough culture has worked its way through the flour, it will actually leave it completely void of sugars (yes, completely).

(but Paola! I tried sourdough and it still spiked my sugar!)

I know, a year ago I told you guys the same thing– that it also still spiked mine, a bit less but still. That is… because I hadn’t tested it with sourdough goodies that had been fermented for 48, 72 hrs… and even five days lol.

And if you’re thinking that it won’t make much of a difference (tbh I didn’t either as back then I was mostly focusing on the discard as the low carb option)… remember the concept of exponential growth we all learned during covid?

Well, it turns out that sourdough fermentation is exponential too– so fermenting your loafs for 48 hours is going to exponentially lower the carbs vs 24 hours (and so on). Say by day four in the experiments I’ve done, my blood sugar barely spikes (and it’s still a terrific loaf of bread compared to any low carb options out there)(but more on this later on this week).

Because due to said exponential fermentation, I do have a few more little Yosemites ready to ship tomorrow for Saturday delivery (they’re limited so I’ll remove the offer once sold out ok?!).

and in case you’re new here or just catching up:

I’m mailing my 100yr sourdough starter (alive!!) to you 🌋

I’m gifting everyone US-based with a yearly subscription a little live clone of my prized starter to get you started on your sourdough adventure (they’re generally worth around $30)(and are much more valuable than a dehydrated one, as its a culture that’s been maintained for decades… and it shows).

because what you’re skipping: four to six months of daily feedings to create an “established colony”:

p.s. remember– don’t open the bonus little package!! (lol to the emails you guys are sending)(instructions for the contents are coming next week 🙃)

p.p.s. I’m emailing you guys the last tracking numbers tonight and tomorrow morning (sorry, without a system this has taken the longest but I’ve wanted to reach out to each and every single one of you personally ok?!)

(but again! no peeking inside the bonus little envelope until next week!!!)

This post is for paid subscribers